WIP - Armada Hufftimus Prime

Archammer2

Hiya, folks. I should probably introduce myself. They call me ArcHammer2 (as if you couldn't tell...) I've been a rabid Transformers fan since I was bit a wee lad. An artist by hobby and programmer by profession.

Anywho, enough of that. After spending some time reading through the forums (thanks, all, for giving me your insight, your stories and loads of pics that acted as inspiration for me), I decided it was finally time to try my hand at painting. I just happened to have an extra Optimus Prime laying around (Armada mold, from the Cybertron line... with one reverse-joint leg for some reason). I wondered what I could do with him. After several scrapped ideas, I decided to make him a bit of a gift for my kid (18-year-old) brother... Hufftimus Prime.

As the title suggests, this is a work in progress. I know there are still a lot of areas I need to touch up.

And, sorry for the quality of the photos. My best camera is the one in my phone. Good for anything but close-ups (note how crystal clear some of the backgrounds are. :P)

11-07-07_1824.jpg

11-07-07_1826.jpg

11-07-07_1827.jpg

Aaaaaand the shoulders aren't done yet...

Any comments and/or criticisms are welcome!

Thanks, Jin! Actually, I looked over your guide before I started painting. It gave me a good idea on how to do dry brushing (which really doesn't show on these crappy pics), and... well... It told me that I didn't need to take the whole thing apart and remove every pin to be able to do a good repaint. :P

Good eye. They're "Model Master", but still Testors. The blue is Tamiya, but I'm finding it a bit hard to work with. The Testors, though, is darned nice.