Custom Repaint

PrimusAutobotMatrix

Hello,

I am a newbie here, need the advice of experts here, I just finished my first custom. Now I like to know what to DO and NOT do when it comes to repainting. I have an airbrush, I am practicing on some figures, but I do not want to screw up on my Dino Combiner. Please feel free to give me the one, two, and three for the processes. Especially the NOT to DO.

Here is my cust I plan to do my first painting on. I will be using grea, silver, blue and red.

Dino Custom

• 6 months later...

Very nice figure. As for your questions on what to do and not to do when painting.

1: Use acrylic model paints. They're water soluble while still wet, and alcohol soluble even when dry so no need for harsh petroleum solvents. Some of the best brands are Tamiya Color, Testors Model Masters, and Pactra Racing Finish, All of which I've used. Tamiya also makes a number of colored clear coats; great for tinting clear plastics or adding high gloss "Candy coat" color to metallic finishes.

2: Do not use enamels. This is especially true if you haven't primed the figure. Enamels use harsh petroium-based solvents which eat Styrene and , to a lesser degree, ABS and acrylic, and do not cure on other types of plastics, such as nylon, rubber, vinyl, or polyurethane. Enamels cure by eating into the top layers of the plastic and chemically bonding to them. This weakens the structural integrity of the plastic and can eventually destroy it. Polystyrene is especially vulnerable to this.

• 1 month later...